Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien Labor für Molekulare Systematik

Natural History Museum Vienna

Vienna | Website

Other research infrastructure

Short Description

Besides a large laboratory room for all standard procedures around DNA analysis, the Laboratory of Molecular Systematics harbours a clean room, where UV-radiation and a filtered air lock system enable ancient DNA analysis to the highest standard. Furthermore, there is all equipment necessary to carry out DNA analyses, in particular in the frame of research to address questions in evolutionary biology, biological systematics and taxonomy. They comprise DNA sequence analysis, aDNA sequence analyses (from museum samples), microsatellite analysis, DNA barcoding (species identification via DNA sequencing).

Contact Person

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Elisabeth Haring (Abteilungsleiterin)

Research Services

The facilities are available to all departments of the NHM Vienna for scientific and routine investigations, some of which are carried out in cooperation with national and international research partners. Use by external parties (for a fee or in the frame of cooperations) is possible after agreement with the responsible contact person; Scientific cooperation, especially in the context of third-party funded projects possible. Contract work is also accepted by agreement (e.g., species identification via DNA barcoding, genotyping, genetic monitoring).

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

Molecular biological procedures, specifically DNA sequence analyses, include e.g. B. DNA extraction, DNA extraction from samples of museum material (aDNA), polymerase chain reaction (PCR), cloning of PCR products, DNA visualization and measurements as well as data analysis (e.g. DNA sequence analysis, microsatellite analysis, DNA barcoding, eDNA barcoding).

Equipment:
The main laboratory is equipped with 7 thermal cyclers (Eppendorf), 4 centrifuges, various thermo mixers, incubators, refrigerators and freezers, an autoclave, a pipetting robot and a microscope with a camera system and software for documentation. An Agilent 4150 Tape Station, a Qbit 3 fluorometer and a gel documentation system (FAS-Digi Pro) are available for DNA visualization and measurements.
The DNA clean room has a filtered air lock system and UV radiation to enable contamination-free DNA extraction (especially from museum material; "old DNA"; aDNA). The clean room is equipped with a Retsch ball mill, a UV hood, a thermal cycler, thermal mixers, two large centrifuges with cooling system, an incubator, an automated nucleic acid extraction system (Promega Maxwell® RSC), a stereo microscope for tissue removal and a vacuum pump for (e.g., eDNA) extractions from filters.

Allocation to Core Facility

Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Elisabeth Haring (Abteilungsleiterin)
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
+43-1-52177-332
elisabeth.haring@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/elisabeth_haring

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Luise Kruckenhauser (Stv. Laborleitung)
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
06803035281+43-1-52177-403
luise.kruckenhauser@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/luise_kruckenhauser
Use by external parties (for a fee or in the frame of cooperations) is possible after agreement with the responsible contact person; Scientific cooperation, especially in the context of third-party funded projects possible. Contract work is also accepted by agreement (e.g., species identification via DNA barcoding, genotyping, genetic monitoring).

Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien Labor für Molekulare Systematik

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Vienna | Website

Sonstige Forschungsinfrastruktur

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Forschungslabor für Molekulare Systematik umfasst ein Großraumlabor und einen DNA-Reinraum, dessen UV-Bestrahlung und ein gefiltertes Lüftungssystem die Untersuchung von alter DNA auf höchstem technischem Niveau ermöglichen. Die Laborausstattung umfasst die Gerätschaften, welche für die Durchführung von DNA-Analysen – vor allem im Rahmen von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu Fragestellungen aus der Evolutionsbiologie, biologischen Systematik und Taxonomie – notwendig sind. Dazu zählen insbesondere, DNA-Sequenzanalyse, DNA-Sequenzanalyse aus Proben von Museumsmaterial (Sammlungsobjekte), Mikrosatellitenanalyse, Artbestimmung mittels DNA-Sequenzanalyse, DNA-Barcoding.

Ansprechperson

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Elisabeth Haring (Abteilungsleiterin)

Research Services

Die Einrichtungen stehen allen Abteilungen des NHM Wien für wissenschaftliche und routinemäßige Untersuchungen zur Verfügung, die zum Teil in Kooperation mit nationalen und internationalen Forschungspartnern durchgeführt werden. Nutzung durch Externe (kostenpflichtig oder im Rahmen von Kooperationen) nach Vereinbarung mit den zuständigen Kontaktpersonen möglich; wissenschaftliche Kooperationen, vor allem im Rahmen von drittmittel-geförderten Projekten möglich. Nach Vereinbarung werden auch Auftragsarbeiten (z. B. Artbestimmung mittels DNA-Barcoding, genetische Typisierung, genetisches Monitoring) angenommen.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Molekularbiologische Arbeiten zu DNA-Sequenzanalyse umfassen z. B. DNA-Extraktion, DNA-Extraktion aus Proben von Museumsmaterial (aDNA), Polymerasekettenreaktion (PCR), Klonierung von PCR-Produkten, DNA-Visualisierung und -Messungen sowie Datenanalysen (z. B. DNA-Sequenzanalyse, Mikrosatellitenanalyse, DNA-Barcoding, eDNA-Barcoding).

Geräteausstattung:
Das Hauptlabor ist mit 7 Thermocyclern (Eppendorf), 4 Zentrifugen, mehreren verschiedenen Thermomixern, Inkubatoren sowie Kühl- und Gefriergeräten, einem Autoklav, einem Pipettier-Roboter und einem Mikroskop mit Kamerasystem und Software zur Dokumentation ausgestattet. Für die DNA-Visualisierung und -Messungen stehen eine Agilent 4150Tape Station, ein Qbit 3 Fluorometer und ein Geldokumentationssystem (FAS-Digi Pro) zur Verfügung.
Der DNA-Reinraum verfügt über ein gefiltertes Luftschleusensystem und UV-Strahlung, um kontaminationsfreie DNA-Extraktion zu ermöglichen (insbesondere von Museumsmaterial; „alte DNA“; aDNA). Der Reinraum ist mit einer Retsch Kugelmühle, einer UV-Hood, einem Thermocycler, Thermomixern, zwei großen Zentrifugen mit Kühlsystem, einem Inkubator, einem automatisierten Nukleinsäure-Extraktionssystem (Promega Maxwell® RSC), einem Stereomikroskop für die Gewebeentnahme sowie einer Vakuum-Pumpe für Filter-DNA-Extraktionen (z. B. eDNA) ausgestattet.

Zuordnung zur Core Facility

Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Elisabeth Haring (Abteilungsleiterin)
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
+43-1-52177-332
elisabeth.haring@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/elisabeth_haring

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Luise Kruckenhauser (Stv. Laborleitung)
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
06803035281+43-1-52177-403
luise.kruckenhauser@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/luise_kruckenhauser
Nutzung durch Externe nach Vereinbarung (kostenpflichtig oder im Rahmen von Kooperationen) mit den zuständigen Kontaktpersonen möglich; wissenschaftliche Kooperationen, vor allem im Rahmen von drittmittel-geförderten Projekten möglich. Auftragsarbeiten nach Vereinbarung (z. B. Artbestimmung mittels DNA-Barcoding; genetische Typisierung, genetisches Monitoring)