Nanosecond Laser Ablation System (LA) for ICP-MS

University of Graz

Graz | Website

Large equipment

Short Description

The laser ablation system (CETAC AnalyteG2, wavelength 193 nm) in combination with an inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometer (ICOMS) is suitable for the (quantitative) determination of the spatial trace element distribution in different sample materials. The main samples intended are thin sections of biological samples and samples of geological interest. The achievable spatial resolution depends on the local concentration of the elements to be analyzed and can be better than 5 μm. In combination with a highly sensitive ICPMS, the system allows very fast measurements (high laser frequency up to 300 Hz possible), which significantly shortens time-consuming two-dimensional measurements compared to ablation systems with lower frequency (for example, ablation systems with wavelengths from 213 nm frequency to 20 Hz). Under suitable measurement conditions, both continuous and "shot-resolved" measurements with high spatial resolution can be carried out in a short time.

A number of certified reference materials are available for the quantification of geological samples, while the quantification of biological samples is based on the production and measurement of gelatine standards produced in-house. The available software allows the semi-automatic qualitative and quantitative evaluation (on-line) of the data generated by ICPMS.

Contact Person

Jörg Feldmann

Research Services

please enquire
Prof. Dr. J. Feldmann (joerg.feldmann@uni-graz.at)
Dr. Andrea Raab (andrea.raab@uni-graz.at)

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

The group mainly deals with biological questions, as well as methodical development of the entire laser ablation system in combination with ICPMS. We have experience in both qualitative and quantitative 2-D mapping of biological samples. In addition to the "general" imaging of the trace element distribution in biological samples, the distribution of nanoparticles in these is investigated.

please enquire
Prof. Dr. J. Feldmann (joerg.feldmann@uni-graz.at)
Dr. Andrea Raab (andrea.raab@uni-graz.at)

Nanosecond Laser Ablation System (LA) for ICP-MS

Universität Graz

Graz | Website

Großgerät

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Laser Ablation System (CETAC AnalyteG2, Wellenlänge 193 nm) in Kombination mit einem induktiv gekoppelten Plasma Massenspektrometer (ICOMS) ist geeignet für die (quantitative) Bestimmung der räumlichen Spurenelementverteilung in verschiedenen Probenmaterialien. Als Proben sind vor allem Dünnschnitte biologischer Proben und Proben von geologischem Interesse vorgesehen. Die erreichbare räumliche Auflösung hängt von der lokalen Konzentration der zu analysierenden Elemente ab und kann besser als 5 µm sein. Das System erlaubt in Kombination mit einer hochempfindlichen ICPMS sehr schnelle Messungen (hohe Laserfrequenz bis zu 300 Hz möglich), welche zeitaufwändigen zweidimensionalen Messungen im Vergleich zu Ablation Systemen mit geringerer Frequenz (zum Beispiel Ablation Systeme mit Wellenlängen von 213 nm Frequenz bis 20 Hz) wesentlich verkürzt. Bei geeigneten Messbedingungen lassen sich sowohl kontinuierliche als auch „Shot-resolved“ Messungen mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung in geringer Zeit durchführen.

Für die Quantifizierung von geologischen Proben stehen eine Reihe von zertifizierten Referenzmaterialien bereit, während die Quantifizierung biologischer Proben auf die Herstellung und Messung in-house erzeugter Gelatinestandards beruht. Die zur Verfügung stehende Software erlaubt die halbautomatische qualitative und quantitative Auswertung (on-line) der von der ICPMS erzeugten Daten.

Ansprechperson

Jörg Feldmann

Research Services

auf Nachfrage
Prof. Dr. J. Feldmann (joerg.feldmann@uni-graz.at)
Dr. Andrea Raab (andrea.raab@uni-graz.at)

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Von der Gruppe werden überwiegend biologische Fragestellungen bearbeitet, sowie methodische Entwicklung des gesamten Laser Ablation Systems in Kombination mit ICPMS betrieben. Wir haben Erfahrung im qualitativen als auch im quantitativen 2-D Mapping biologischer Proben. Neben dem "allgemeinen" Imaging der Spurenelementverteilung in biologischen Proben wird die Verteilung von Nanopartikeln in diesen untersucht.

auf Nachfrage
Prof. Dr. J. Feldmann (joerg.feldmann@uni-graz.at)
Dr. Andrea Raab (andrea.raab@uni-graz.at)