2. Zoologie Neuropterida und angeschlossene Sammlungen

Natural History Museum Vienna

Wien | Website

Electronic database

Short Description

The collection "Neuropterida and affiliated collections" of the Natural History Museum comprises a large number of smaller insect orders and consists mostly of dry material of historical and recent collections from all biogeographical regions of the earth. The oldest specimens date from the mid-19th century. Particularly noteworthy are the Orthoptera collection of Karl Brunner von Wattenwyl (1823-1914), rich in type material, and the Neuropterida collection of Herbert Hölzel (1925-2008). New collections have been and are being stored in alcohol for molecular biological studies.

Contact Person

Dr. Susanne Randolf

Research Services

Visiting researchers have access to the collection and library, as well as suitable technical equipment. A stacking photography equipment of the department can also be used. If necessary, curators provide support on nature conservation and educational issues. Digitised species inventories are available.

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

The collection "Neuropterida and affiliated collections" can be used for classical morphological-taxonomic studies on the one hand, and for molecular analyses on the other hand. Research focus lies in the investigation of the head morphology of the Neuropterida using microcomputer tomographic scans and histological section series to answer questions about the evolution and relationship of this group. The results of these studies will be used to show effects of miniaturization in very small species.

Allocation to Core Facility

2. Zoologische Abteilung (Entomologie), Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Dr. Susanne Randolf
2. Zoologische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-345
susanne.randolf@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/susanne_randolf
Access to collection and library is possible only after appointment with the curator and during his working hours. A requirement for working in the collection is a basic knowledge about how to handle dry insect specimens.
ST. QUENTIN D., 1970: Katalog der Odonaten-Typen im Naturhistorischen Museum Wien. Annalen des Naturhistorischen Museums in Wien, 74: 253-279.

BROCK P. D., 1998: Catalogue of type specimens of Stick- and Leaf-Insects in the Naturhistorisches Museum Wien (Insecta: Phasmida). Kataloge der wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen des Naturhistorischen Museums in Wien, 13: 3-72.

2. Zoologie Neuropterida und angeschlossene Sammlungen

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Wien | Website

Elektronische Datenbank / Sammlung

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Sammlung „Neuropterida und angeschlossene Sammlungen“ des Naturhistorischen Museums umfasst eine Vielzahl kleinerer Insektenordnungen und besteht zum größten Teil aus Trockenmaterial historischer und neuerer Aufsammlungen aus allen biogeografischen Regionen der Erde. Die ältesten Exemplare stammen aus der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Besonders hervorzuheben sind die an Typenmaterial reiche Orthopterasammlung von Karl Brunner von Wattenwyl (1823-1914) und die Neuropteridasammlung von Herbert Hölzel (1925-2008). Für molekularbiologische Untersuchungen wurden und werden neue Aufsammlungen in Alkohol gelagert.

Ansprechperson

Dr. Susanne Randolf

Research Services

Gastforscher haben Zugang zu den umfangreichen Sammlungen, den Fachbibliotheken, sowie zu geeigneter technischer Ausrüstung. An einer für die gesamte Abteilung zentralen Fotoanlage können Schichtfotografien angefertigt werden. Bei Bedarf wird Unterstützung in naturschutzfachlichen und ausbildungstechnischen Fragestellungen angeboten. Artinventare sind in digitaler Form vorhanden.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die Sammlung „Neuropterida und angeschlossene Sammlungen“ kann einerseits für klassische morphologisch-taxonomische Untersuchungen genutzt werden, andererseits auch für molekulare Analysen. Konkreter Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Untersuchung der Kopfmorphologie der Neuropterida anhand von microcomputertomografischen Scans und histologischen Schnittserien, um Fragen zur Evolution und Verwandtschaft dieser Gruppe zu klären. Weiters werden mit den Ergebnissen Effekte der Miniaturisierung bei sehr kleinen Arten aufgezeigt.

Zuordnung zur Core Facility

2. Zoologische Abteilung (Entomologie), Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Dr. Susanne Randolf
2. Zoologische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-345
susanne.randolf@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/susanne_randolf
Zutritt zu Sammlung und Bibliothek ist nur nach Terminvereinbarung mit dem Kurator und während dessen Anwesenheit möglich. Voraussetzung für selbständiges Arbeiten in der Sammlung sind Basiskenntnisse für den Umgang mit Insektenpräparaten.
ST. QUENTIN D., 1970: Katalog der Odonaten-Typen im Naturhistorischen Museum Wien. Annalen des Naturhistorischen Museums in Wien, 74: 253-279.

BROCK P. D., 1998: Catalogue of type specimens of Stick- and Leaf-Insects in the Naturhistorisches Museum Wien (Insecta: Phasmida). Kataloge der wissenschaftlichen Sammlungen des Naturhistorischen Museums in Wien, 13: 3-72.