2. Zoologische Abteilung (Entomologie), Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Natural History Museum Vienna

Wien | Website

Core facility (CF)

Short Description

Entomology deals with the study of insects. The Natural History Museum Vienna houses one of the largest collections of insects in the world, with over 10 million specimens.

As a typical institute for basic research, questions about the evolution, systematics and zoogeography of insects are examined. Our scientists write numerous specialist publications and bring the exciting world of insects closer to the audience through exhibitions and lectures.

Contact Person

Dr. Martin Lödl

Research Services

Visiting researchers have access to the collection and library, as well as suitable technical equipment. A stacking photography equipment of the department can also be used. If necessary, curators provide support on nature conservation and educational issues.

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

The second zoological department focuses on the systematics, phylogeny and zoogeography of insects. It conducts basic research taking into account the three classic museum techniques: collecting, organising and analysing. Collective samples from the field are professionally prepared, sorted and determined for specialists and then scientifically processed.

Equipment

Dr. Martin Lödl
2. Zoologische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-318
martin.loedl@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/martin_loedl
Access to collection and library is possible only after appointment with the curator and during his working hours. A requirement for working in the collection is a basic knowledge about how to handle dry insect specimens.

2. Zoologische Abteilung (Entomologie), Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Wien | Website

Core Facilities (CF)

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Entomologie beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung der Insekten. Das Naturhistorische Museum Wien beherbergt mit über 10 Millionen Präparaten eine der größten Insektensammlungen der Welt.

Als typisches Institut der Grundlagenforschung werden Fragestellungen zur Evolution, Systematik und Zoogeographie von Insekten untersucht. Unsere Wissenschaftler verfassen zahlreiche Fachpublikationen und bringen die spannende Welt der Insekten im Schaubereich durch Ausstellungen und Vorträge dem Publikum näher.

Ansprechperson

Dr. Martin Lödl

Research Services

Gastforscher haben Zugang zu den umfangreichen Sammlungen, den Fachbibliotheken, sowie zu geeigneter technischer Ausrüstung. An einer für die gesamte Abteilung zentralen Fotoanlage können Schichtfotografien angefertigt werden. Bei Bedarf wird Unterstützung in naturschutzfachlichen und ausbildungstechnischen Fragestellungen angeboten.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die 2. Zoologische Abteilung hat als Arbeitsschwerpunkt die Systematik, Phylogenie und Zoogeographie der Insekten. Sie betreibt Grundlagenforschung unter Berücksichtigung der drei klassischen Musealtechniken: Sammeln, Ordnen und Analysieren. Sammelproben aus dem Freiland werden fachgerecht präpariert, für Spezialisten sortiert und determiniert und anschließend wissenschaftlich bearbeitet.

Equipment der Core Facility

Dr. Martin Lödl
2. Zoologische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-318
martin.loedl@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/martin_loedl
Zutritt zu Sammlung und Bibliothek ist nur nach Terminvereinbarung mit dem Kurator und während dessen Anwesenheit möglich. Voraussetzung für selbständiges Arbeiten in der Sammlung sind Basiskenntnisse für den Umgang mit Insektenpräparaten.