Mineralogie/Petrographie Mineraliensammlung

Natural History Museum Vienna

Wien | Website

Electronic database / Collection

Short Description

The significance of the mineral collection of the Natural History Museum Vienna lies in their rich content of objects from occurrences within the former area of the Austrian-Hungarian Monarchy and of the Alps. However, the collection also represents many "classic" deposits of Germany, Russia, Great Britain, Italy and other countries, collecting is worlwide.

Todays' focus is mainly on Alpine-type mineral assemblage (Alps and alpinotype areas), selected pegmatite assemblages (e.g., Pakistan, Afghanistan and Nepal), documentation of new mineral findings and the completion of mineral systematics. Only a small part of the collection is on display. The mineral collection, shown to the public in four halls, is a systematic collection that has grown over time. Special topics shown: evolution of minerals, context between mineral and animal names, minerals from Austria, the historic persons Van der Nüll, Frederic Mohs, natural radiation (natural radioactivity and luminescence of minerals).

Contact Person

HR Dr. Vera M. F. Hammer

Research Services

Determination of minerals, gemstones, crystalline materials, ore minerals and handicrafts made of stone materials (inc. artefacts made of stone),... and expert opinions possible on request for a fee.
Assistance with historical research on certain objects and persons in connection with the mineral collection.

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

The employees of the department of mineralogy and petrography have expertise in the determination of minerals. A large variety of analytical methods are used. They also have special expertise in the historical aspects of mineral and ore localities and the practical use of mineral raw materials.

Allocation to Core Facility

Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung, Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

HR Dr. Vera M. F. Hammer
Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-272
vera.hammer@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/vera_m_f_hammer
Access after prior appointment during working hours (Mo-Fr, 8:30am-4:30pm).

Mineralogie/Petrographie Mineraliensammlung

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Wien | Website

Elektronische Datenbanken inkl. Sammlungen

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Bedeutung der Mineraliensammlung liegt vor allem in ihrer Reichhaltigkeit von Objekten aus Vorkommen des ehemaligen Staatsgebietes der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie und des alpinen Bereiches. Es sind aber auch viele "klassische" Lagerstätten Deutschlands, Russlands, Englands, Italiens und anderer Länder vertreten, gesammelt wird weltweit.

Aktuelle Schwerpunkte sind "Alpinparagenesen" weltweit, ausgewählte Pegmatit-Paragenesen (z.B. Pakistan, Afghanistan und Nepal), die Dokumentation von Neufunden und die Vervollständigung der Mineralsystematik. Nur ein kleiner Bruchteil der Mineraliensammlung ist ausgestellt. Bei der öffentlich in vier Schausälen gezeigten Mineraliensammlung handelt es sich um eine historisch gewachsene und systematische Sammlung. Gezeigte Sonderthemen: Evolution der Mineralien, Zusammenhang von Mineral- und Tiernamen, Minerale Österreichs, die historischen Persönlichkeiten Van der Nüll und Friederich Mohs, Natürliche Strahlung (natürliche Radioaktivität und Lumineszenz von Mineralien).

Ansprechperson

HR Dr. Vera M. F. Hammer

Research Services

Bestimmung von Mineralien, Edelsteinen, kristallinen Phasen, Erzmineralien und kunstgewerbliche Gegenständen (inkl. Artefakten aus Steinmaterialien),... und Erstellung von Materialgutachten auf Anfrage und gegen Gebühr möglich.
Hilfestellung bei historischen Recherchen zu bestimmten Objekten und Personen in Zusammenhang mit der Mineraliensammlung.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die Mitarbeiter*innen der Mineralogisch-Petrographischen Abteilung verfügen über umfangreiche Expertise zur Bestimmung von Mineralien mit unterschiedlichen Analysemethoden. Sie verfügen weiters über Spezialkenntnisse zu historischen Aspekten betreffend Mineral- und Erzfundstellen sowie der praktischen Anwendung mineralischer Rohstoffe.

Zuordnung zur Core Facility

Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung, Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

HR Dr. Vera M. F. Hammer
Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung
+43 1 52177-272
vera.hammer@nhm-wien.ac.at
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/vera_m_f_hammer
Zugang nach vorheriger Anmeldung während der Geschäftszeiten (Mo-Fr, 8:30-16:30 Uhr).