Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung, Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Natural History Museum Vienna

Wien | Website

Core facility (CF)

Short Description

The collections of the Department of Mineralogy and Petrography comprise a total of about 150.000 catalogued objects (the effective number of pieces is of course considerably higher). About 15% of the total inventory is on public display in 5 large exhibition halls (in the case of the mineral collection it is even a fifth of the inventory).

The significance of the mineral collection of the Natural History Museum Vienna lies in their rich content of objects from occurrences within the former area of the Austrian-Hungarian Monarchy and of the Alps. However, the collection also represents many "classic" deposits of Germany, Russia, Great Britain, Italy and other countries.

The instrumental equipment comprises an electron microprobe, a scanning electron microscope with analytical attachment (EDS, EBSD, CL), an X-ray powder diffractometer, a gemstone Raman spectrometer, an UV-VIS spectrometer and various reflected-light, transmitted-light and gemstone microscopes. The department also has a lab for preparing samples (thin sections, polished sections, heavy-mineral separation, grinding).

Contact Person

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Uwe Kolitsch

Research Services

Determination of minerals, gemstones, precious stones, imitations and synthetic gemstones, rocks and meteorites possible on request, depending on various conditions.
Expert opinions of gemstones, precious stones, minerals, artefacts (fee applies).
Help concerning historical research.

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

The employees of the department of mineralogy and petrography have expertise in the determination of minerals, gemstones, precious stones, rocks and meteorites. A large variety of analytical methods are used. They also have special expertise in the historical aspects of objects in the collections.

Equipment

Access to scientists during working hours (Mo-Fr, 9 am - 4 pm) after prior appointment.
The most important cooperation partners of the department are:
- Institute for mineralogy and crystallgraphy, University of Vienna, Austria
- Institute for chemical technologies and analytics, Department of Structural Chemistry, Technical University of Vienna, Austria

Mineralogisch-Petrographische Abteilung, Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Wien | Website

Core Facilities (CF)

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Sammlungen der Mineralogisch-Petrographischen Abteilung weisen einen Gesamtbestand von rund 150.000 inventarisierten Objekten auf (die effektive Stückzahl ist natürlich wesentlich höher!). Etwa 15 % des Gesamtbestandes an Objekten ist in 5 Schausälen ausgestellt und damit dem Besucher zugänglich (bei der Mineraliensammlung ist es sogar ein Fünftel des Bestandes).

Die Bedeutung der Mineraliensammlung des Naturhistorischen Museums Wien liegt vor allem in ihrer Reichhaltigkeit von Objekten aus Vorkommen des ehemaligen Staatsgebietes der Österreichisch-Ungarischen Monarchie und des alpinen Bereiches. Es sind aber auch viele "klassische" Lagerstätten Deutschlands, Rußlands, Englands, Italiens und anderer Länder vertreten.

Die Analysegeräte umfassen eine Elektronenstrahlmikrosonde, einem Rasterelektronenmikroskop (mit EDS-, EBSD- und CL-Analysegeräten), ein Röntgenpulverdiffraktometer, ein Edelstein-Raman-Spektrometer, ein UV-VIS-Spektrophotometer und verschiedene Auflicht-, Durchlicht- und Edelsteinsteinmikroskope. Zur Abteilung gehört auch ein Präparationslabor zur Herstellung von Anschliffen und Dünnschliffen, zur Probenzerkleinerung und zur Schwermineralanalyse.

Ansprechperson

Priv.-Doz. Dr. Uwe Kolitsch

Research Services

Bestimmung von Mineralien, Edelsteinen, Schmucksteinen, Synthesen, Gesteinen und Meteoriten unter bestimmten Bedingungen auf Anfrage möglich.
Erstellung von Materialgutachten gegen Gebühr (Edelsteine, Schmucksteine, Mineralien, Artefakte, ...).
Hilfestellung bei historischen Recherchen.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Die Mitarbeiter*innen der Mineralogisch-Petrographischen Abteilung verfügen über umfangreiche Expertise zur Bestimmung von Mineralien, Edelsteinen, Gesteinen und Meteoriten mit unterschiedlichen Analysemethoden. Sie verfügen auch über Spezialkenntnisse zu geschichtlichen Aspekten der Objekte in den Sammlungen.

Equipment der Core Facility

Zugang für Wissenschafter nach vorheriger Anmeldung während der Geschäftszeiten (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr).
Die wichtigsten Kooperationspartner der Abteilung sind:
- Institut für Mineralogie und Kristallgraphie, Universität Wien
- Institut für Chemische Technologien und Analytik, Bereich Strukturchemie, Technische Universität Wien