PEAQ Differential Scanning Calorimeter Automated (Malvern Panalytical)

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna (BOKU)

Wien

Large equipment

Short Description

Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC) is a biophysical technique for the characterization of the thermal stability of proteins and other biomolecules. These molecules often undergo thermally induced conformational changes, such as unfolding. When a protein unfolds, non-covalent bonds break and a new, probably non-functional structural arrangement is created. Differential Scanning Calorimeters measure the absorbed heat required for rearranging the conformational structure. Our system provides high throughput, highly sensitive protein stability analysis with fully automated cell filling and cleaning functions for walk-away operations. The autosampler is able to process up to 50 samples per day.

Contact Person

Irene Schaffner

Research Services

Please contact the Core Facility via bmca@boku.ac.at

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

DSC is most commonly used in biopharmaceutical development and manufacture for predicting and optimizing a product´s shelf life, the optimization of purification and manufacturing conditions, the assessment of biosimilarity and batch-to-batch comparability or for characterizing a drug´s protein target. In addition, the label-free stability data obtained by DSC can be applied for general stability studies, sensitive and reproducible analysis of protein folding and unfolding, the investigation of thermic processes and the characterization of materials.
The thermal core of the system consists of a sample cell containing the sample of interest and a reference cell with buffer solution. Both cells are enclosed within an insulating jacket where they are always kept at the same temperature. During measurement, they are heated at a constant scanning rate. The absorption of heat that occurs when a protein unfolds causes a temperature difference (∆T) between sample and reference cell, resulting in a thermal gradient across the Peltier units. The voltage that is created is converted into electric power and used to return ∆T to zero. The electric power supply required to maintain both sample and reference cell at the same temperature is measured by the instrument and plotted against the temperature. Since protein unfolding is an endothermic event, it appears as a positive displacement in the thermogram. The midpoint of this protein melting transition is the Tm and the area under the curve represents the enthalpy (∆H) of the unfolding process. It can also be used to determine the change in heat capacity (∆Cp) of denaturation. From the results obtained by DSC, factors that contribute to folding/unfolding and stability of biomolecules can be explained. These include hydrophobic interactions, hydrogen bonding, conformational entropy and the physical and chemical environment.

Allocation to Core Facility

Biomolecular & Cellular Analysis (BmCA)

Irene Schaffner
Biomolecular & Cellular Analysis
+43 1 47654 77231
bmca@boku.ac.at
Please contact the Core Facility via bmca@boku.ac.at

PEAQ Differential Scanning Calorimeter Automated (Malvern Panalytical)

Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (BOKU)

Wien | Website

Großgerät

Kurzbeschreibung

Die dynamische Differenzkalorimetrie (Differential Scanning Calorimetry, DSC) ist eine biophysikalische Methode zur Charakterisierung der thermischen Stabilität von Proteinen und anderen Biomolekülen. Dabei wird die Wärmemengenänderung gemessen, die mit der thermischen Denaturierung des Moleküls einhergeht, wenn dieses mit einer konstanten Rate erwärmt wird. Da es eine labelfreie Methode ist, erlaubt es die Analyse von Proteinen und anderen Biomolekülen im nativen Zustand in Echtzeit. Sowohl Zellbefüllung als auch Reinigungsschritte erfolgen vollautomatisiert. Ein integrierter Autosampler ermöglicht die unbeaufsichtigte Analyse von bis zu 50 Proben pro Tag.

Ansprechperson

Irene Schaffner

Research Services

Charakterisierung der thermischen Stabilität von Proteinen und anderen Biomolekülen

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Eines der häufigsten Einsatzgebiete von DSC ist die Arzneimittelforschung- und Entwicklung. Zu den typischen Anwendungen zählen z.B. die Charakterisierung der stabilsten Proteine und damit die Auswahl potentieller Kandidaten in der Entwicklung von Biopharmazeutika, die Optimierung der Reinigungs- und Herstellungsbedingungen, die Untersuchung von Ligandenwechselwirkungen aber auch die Untersuchung thermischer Prozesse und die Charakterisierung von Materialien.
Das System verfügt über eine Messkammer bestehend aus zwei Zellen, der Probenzelle (wird mit der zu untersuchenden Probe befüllt) und der Referenzzelle (mit einer abgestimmten Pufferlösung). Die beiden Zellen werden stets auf gleicher Temperatur gehalten und während der Messung mit einer konstanten Durchlaufrate erwärmt. Die bei der Entfaltung eines Moleküls auftretende Wärmeaufnahme bewirkt einen Temperaturunterschied (ΔT) zwischen Probe- und Referenzzelle und damit ein Temperaturgefälle zwischen den beiden Seiten der Peltier-Elemente. Die daraus entstehende elektrische Spannung dient als Steuergröße für einen Regelkreis, durch den die Temperaturdifferenz ΔT auf 0 °K ausgeregelt wird. Da es sich bei der Proteinentfaltung um einen endothermen Vorgang handelt, wird im Thermogramm eine positive Auslenkung beobachtet. Der Mittelpunkt dieses Übergangs ist der Tm-Wert, die Fläche unter der Kurve entspricht der Enthalpie (ΔH) des Entfaltungsprozesses. Durch Anpassung an thermodynamische Modelle kann man in vielen Fällen die mit dem Übergang verbundenen Werte der Gibbs-Energie (ΔG), der kalorimetrischen Enthalpie (ΔHcal), der Van-'t-Hoff-Enthalpie (ΔHvH), der Entropie (ΔS) und der Änderung der Wärmekapazität (ΔCp) erhalten. Die generierten Parameter dienen zur Identifizierung und Erklärung von Parametern die zu Faltung/Entfaltung und Stabilität von Biomolekülen beitragen. Diese sind hydropobe Interaktionen, Wasserstoffbrückenbindungen, konformationelle Entropie und die physikalische und chemische Umgebung.

Zuordnung zur Core Facility

Biomolecular & Cellular Analysis (BmCA)

Irene Schaffner
CF Biomolecular & Cellular Analysis
+43 (1) 47654 77231
irene.schaffner@boku.ac.at
Eine Nutzung der verschiedenen Geräte ist, bei gegebener Ausbildung der Nutzer und nach erfolgter Einschulung, in Absprache mit den Geräteverantwortlichen gegen eine bench fee möglich.