Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien

Natural History Museum Vienna

Vienna | Website

Core facility (CF)

Short Description

The Central Research Laboratories at the Natural History Museum Vienna comprise the Research Laboratory of Molecular Systematics (DNA Lab) as well as the facilities of microanalysis, which include the Electron Microscope Analytical Facilities and a Micro-CT.

Contact Person

Elisabeth Haring

Research Services

Use by external parties (for a fee or in the frame of cooperations) is possible after agreement with the responsible contact person; Scientific cooperation, especially in the context of third-party funded projects possible. Contract work is also accepted by agreement.

Methods & Expertise for Research Infrastructure

Besides a large laboratory room for all standard procedures around DNA analysis, the lab DNA harbours a clean room, where UV-radiation and a filtered room ventilation system enable ancient DNA analysis to the highest standard. Furthermore, there is all equipment necessary to carry out DNA analyses, in particular in the frame of research to address questions in evolutionary biology, biological systematics and taxonomy. They comprise DNA sequence analysis, aDNA sequence analyses (from museum samples), microsatellite analysis, DNA barcoding (species identification via DNA sequencing).
The Research Laboratory for Molecular Systematics was founded in 1992. In 2013, the infrastructure was extended by a clean room.
In addition, since 1994, the DNA laboratory has been maintaining a Tissue and DNA collection with over 30,000 individual samples.
The section of microanalysis comprises a scanning electron microscope (SEM), an electron probe micro analyzer (EMPA) and a micro-CT. The areas of application are the non-destructive imaging and analysis of a wide variety of solids from various areas of geosciences, biology, anthropology and prehistory.

Equipment

Elisabeth Haring
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
06803035281
isilpotz@gmail.com
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/elisabeth_haring
Use by external parties (for a fee or in the frame of cooperations) is possible after agreement with the responsible contact person; Scientific cooperation, especially in the context of third-party funded projects possible. Contract work is also accepted by agreement.

Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien

Naturhistorisches Museum Wien

Vienna | Website

Core Facility (CF)

Kurzbeschreibung

Die Zentralen Forschungslaboratorien des Naturhistorischen Museums umfassen das Forschungslabor für molekulare Systematik (DNA-Labor) sowie den Bereich der Mikroanalyse, bestehend aus den elektronenmikroskopisch-analytischen Einrichtungen und dem Mikro-CT.

Ansprechperson

Elisabeth Haring

Research Services

Nutzung durch Externe (kostenpflichtig oder im Rahmen von Kooperationen) nach Vereinbarung mit den zuständigen Kontaktpersonen möglich; wissenschaftliche Kooperationen, vor allem im Rahmen von drittmittel-geförderten Projekten möglich. Nach Vereinbarung werden auch Auftragsarbeiten angenommen.

Methoden & Expertise zur Forschungsinfrastruktur

Das Forschungslabor für molekulare Systematik umfasst ein Großraumlabor und einen DNA-Reinraum, dessen UV-Bestrahlung und ein gefiltertes Lüftungssystem die Untersuchung von alter DNA auf höchstem technischem Niveau ermöglichen. Die Laborausstattung umfasst die Gerätschaften, welche für die Durchführung von DNA-Analysen – vor allem im Rahmen von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu Fragestellungen aus der Evolutionsbiologie, biologischen Systematik und Taxonomie – notwendig sind. Dazu zählen insbesondere, DNA-Sequenzanalyse, DNA-Sequenzanalyse aus Proben von Museumsmaterial (Sammlungsobjekte), Mikrosatellitenanalyse, Artbestimmung mittels DNA-Sequenzanalyse, DNA-Barcoding.
Das Forschungslabor für molekulare Systematik wurde 1992 gegründet. Im Jahr 2013 wurde die Ausstattung des Labors erweitert, insbesondere ein Reinraum eingerichtet.
Weiters wird seit 1994 eine DNA- und Gewebe- Sammlung geführt, die derzeit über 30.000 Einzelproben enthält.
Zum Bereich der Mikroanalyse zählen ein Rasterelektronenmikroskop (REM), eine Elektronenstrahlmikrosonde (EMS) sowie ein Mikro-CT. Die Anwendungsbereiche sind die möglichst zerstörungsfreie Bildgebung und Analyse von verschiedensten Festkörpern vor allem aus diversen Bereichen der Geowissenschaften, Biologie, Anthropologie und Prähistorik.

Equipment der Core Facility

Elisabeth Haring
Zentrale Forschungslaboratorien
06803035281
isilpotz@gmail.com
https://www.nhm-wien.ac.at/en/elisabeth_haring
Nutzung durch Externe (kostenpflichtig oder im Rahmen von Kooperationen) nach Vereinbarung mit den zuständigen Kontaktpersonen möglich; wissenschaftliche Kooperationen, vor allem im Rahmen von drittmittel-geförderten Projekten möglich. Nach Vereinbarung werden auch Auftragsarbeiten angenommen.